not a studio

not a studio

As mentioned previously, I have moved on to a partnership photography studio based in Kuchai Lama, Kuala Lumpur Malaysia early this year.

So I am now part of “not a studio“. How is it different from my previous studio?

Currently we occupy both ground floor and first floor (compared to first floor only previously). The ground floor studio will be able to accommodate large furniture or props since we have a 12 feet rear door way. Compared to the 4 feet stairway to the first floor studio, I would think this is definitely a plus point. Not to mention we have also erected a 14 feet wide infinity wall to accept wide variety of set up possibilities.

I have also switched to Nikon DSLR system from Canon, since the existing pool of equipments are Nikon based. My primary camera at the moment is the Nikon D810 full frame DSLR, but I also have access to a Hasselblad medium format camera system should the need arise. Definitely a handy tool for the more demanding commercial job that we handle.

I will surely miss the Balcar lighting equipment that I have been using for the past 3 years or so, because now we have moved things up a notch with Profoto lighting system. Anybody in the photography industry will know that Profoto is synonym with quality and reliability. Quality + Reliability = better images and better experience overall for both clients and photographer.

Last but not least, I have 2 reliable and experienced partners as producers to further pursue a common goal. Overall, it is a good change and definitely a step up from my previous photography studio as we are able to handle bigger scale photography assignments than before.

What is your opinion?

