Steven Meisel’s State of Emergency

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Steven Meisel‘s State of Emergency for Vogue Italia, ‘Sept 06 has left a strong impression on me. It has somewhat influenced my perspective on fashion photography; no more pretty girls with pretty face, dressed or undressed and a couple of posey poses.

State of Emergency is a showcase of fashion and the current issue, seemingly narrating a story line without any usage of text. That, to me is an art above par.

I wish I had discovered his work much earlier to lead me to his path, but I suppose the learning curve never stops.

What is your opinion?

